top of page

Vendaya Dosa with Brown Rice (Fengreek Brown rice Crepes.)

Who said doing the same thing over and over makes you lose interest in that ? Its getting close to three decades and I've never lost interest in eating dosas.Idli / dosa are staple breakfasts in our household when I grew up. I dont think I will ever lose interest in these crepes made of any rice or lentils.

Here is a recipe of Vendaya Dosa / Fenugreek Rice Crepes. To incorporate some 'health factor' to my usual

'Vendaya Dosa or Fenugreek Crepes',I replaced the white raw rice by brown basmati rice, it was a lot different but it was nice. Letting the batter ferment aids in making it more healthier too.

IMG_2786[1].JPG

Here is the recipe :

For the Batter :

Brown Basmati rice/ Brown Raw Rice - 2 Cups

Fenugreek Seeds - 2 Tbsp.

Urad Dal - 2 Tbsp.

Salt to taste.

Method :

1. Soak the above ingredients in water for about 4 to 5 hours.

2. Grind them in a wet grinder or in a mixer till the batter is smooth. Ensure its not a sandy texture but a creamy one.

3. Leave it overnight to ferment. Since its winter here, I let it ferment overnight in my oven.

4. Give it a nice mix and the batter is ready to be made in to dosas.

5. Heat the pan and when its hot, pour a ladle of the batter and spread it nicely in a circular fashion.

6. dont make it very thin, these crepes are slightly fatter yet spongier than the regular ones.

7. Serve it hot with chutney / sambhar.

Featured Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Clean
  • Twitter Clean
  • Instagram Clean
  • RSS Clean
bottom of page