top of page

Brown Rice Neer Dosa

Neer dosa is a part of Udupi cuisine. Neer means water and Neer dosa is made from thin rice batter. It is a crepe / dosa made by soaking and grinding rice along with some coconut to a very watery and smooth consistency to make crepes from them.

Dining out in a restaurant was a rarity for us even as a very young working couple. And while I like to experiment cooking a lot of dishes in various cuisines,I always choose to stay in my comfort zone of my favorite few restaturants when dining out. Worser still I would choose the same dish to keep my sensitive tummy free of any commotion the following day.

Neer dosa was one such favorite for me in a restaurant in Mysore. Those soft and spongy pure white dosas were not only a delight to the sight but also have a great taste. Those were the days I never bothered to look at my plate and calculate the calories , as soon as the dinner arrives I gobble them up all. Sometimes, Ignorance certainly is a bliss ! :;) Now that I have my all my wisdom teeth popping up, I chose to replace the white rice used in Neer dosa with Brown rice. If at all there was a beating it took, it was only in the looks. The pure white Neer dosa looked a little pale in color because of the brown rice substitution, but if the pale color comes with all the extra fiber , protein and vitamins, it's always welcome !

Here is the recipe.

Difficulty Level - Easy

Ingredients :

Brown Rice - 3 Cups.

Shredded Coconut - 9 Tbsp.

Salt - To Taste

Oil - 1 tsp (per dosa)

Preparation :

Time Taken - 5-6 hours.

Soak the rice in water for 5-6 hours.

Method :

Time Taken : 10 min to grind the batter and 5 min for each dosa.

1. Grind the rice and the coconuts to a very smooth consistency. Make sure when you run the batter between your fingers you dont feel any coarse grains.

2. Add salt and sufficient water to it , so it is very watery. The consistency is closer to that of rava dosa batter.

3. To make the dosa, Take a ladle full of the batter and pour it on a hot pan.

4. Since its watery, it usually runs and takes its shape, just fill any gaps if necessary.

5. If you cook it covered, cooking one side of the dosa would suffice. It takes 1-2 to get cooked. alternatively cook both sides till its done.

Serve it hot with chutney or sambhar or some gravy.

Notes :

1. The watery consistency of the batter is the key to get soft dosas here.

2. If you are making a lot of dosas, the batter tends to get thicker after a while, so keep adding water as you feel necessary.

Featured Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Clean
  • Twitter Clean
  • Instagram Clean
  • RSS Clean
bottom of page