top of page

Protein Idli

Idli is a customary South Indian breakfast – it is a steamed rice-lentil pancake. I have grown up eating idlis almost everyday and yet never got bored of it all, the only variety mom offered is with the side dishes - Idli with chutney and podi (spice powder)on a normal day and idli with chutney and sambhar on special days :) But the realization of how much I loved idlis and dosas did not dawn upon me until I had to step out of my home for my under graduation. The thought of food would only make the excitement and yearning I had to come back home for vacations multifold. Piping hot steamed idlis served with freshly ground spice powder (molaga podi) and chutney will always be ready to welcome me home, Thanks to my mom. So no wonder the kids have taken after me in loving idlis.

Now coming to the nutrition part of it – Idli is probiotic and also a fermented food. The batter of rice and lentils is fermented and then steamed to make idlis, this fermentation process thereby increases the protein, minerals and vitamins that are crucial for our body. But the addition of rice does increase the sugar – so this version of idli is a complete winner since it substitutes the rice with yellow moong dal, thereby increasing the protein and reducing the sugar with no compromise in the taste at all.

Here is the recipe :

Time taken : 10-15 mts for the batter. 10 min to steam the Idlis.

Makes - 32 Idlis.

Ingredients :

  1. Yellow Moong Dal – 1 Cup

  2. Whole white urad dal – 1 Cup

  3. Idli rava – 1/2cup (Optional)

  4. Salt – 4-5 Tbsp.

Method :

  1. Soak the Ingredients above for a couple of hours.

  2. Grind them in to a very smooth batter.**

  3. Add salt to the batter , mix well and keep it in a warm place for fermentation.

  4. The batter will double in size.

  5. Take an idli steamer vessel and transfer the batter in to the Idli plates and steam for 10 – 12 mts.

  6. Serve it hot with chutney/sambhar/podi.

Notes :

  1. Adding some seasoning to the batter and adding carrots / zucchini to the batter will add a nice twist to it and make it interesting for the kids.

  2. Idli rava is optional. I avoid it most of the time, but adding it makes it taste closer to the actual rice idlis.

  3. Wetgrinder is not required for the grinding, mixer / blender will do. This is another reason why I opt for these idlis over my regular ones, Gosh ! who likes to wash the wet grinder ;)

Featured Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Clean
  • Twitter Clean
  • Instagram Clean
  • RSS Clean
bottom of page